The temporary nature of work and WHY IS EVERYTHING IN LONDON?

Now I don’t claim to be a careers expert (how could I?) and I don’t jump on the “no one should work for free” bandwagon. But I am currently going through the stages of trying to find a job or back up plan for if my internship is not extended. Unfortunately for me there is much uncertainty surrounding the funding that allows my position. There is no way I blame my boss (she is super supportive!) But I am finding it hard to remain centered and calm amid my fears I will end up unemployed again.

Back story: For those of you who don’t know I graduated from University of Southampton with a BSc in Sociology with the aim of becoming a social sciences teacher. Unfortunately things happened but my application did not. I therefore ended up, after graduating, moving back in with my parents, unemployed for 3 months and claiming jobseekers allowance. I was so annoyed and ashamed about having to rely on pay outs to get by but my parents couldn’t afford to support me (I have a hankering for precious jewels you see…NOT!) I took the first job I could find because I was so bored out of my brain not doing anything, which was working for a retailer for a year, I was lucky they made me duty manager  which really helped me develop my skills.

ANYWAY

I don’t want to have to just settle for a job, have to revert to retail or end up unemployed again. Living in the South of England people assume there is lots out there, but I need to keep things relative. I either need to work in a position with responsibility or I need to do something in the education sector. It’s not easy to come by permanent, non-teaching positions within the education sector.

So while searching for jobs i find an abundance of great job titles and the majority of them are in London. London is not commutable for me and living with my partner I don’t want us to have to go our separate ways to be able to have a job we love. Neither is living just outside London or IN London an option because it’s too expensive and you end up losing all freedom with money, even if you are on a higher wage (correct me if I’m wrong London-dwellers)

Feeling in this terrible, torn situation but have to remain pro-active and determined. I also have the problem that I don’t know when or if I will ever have the money to do a teaching qualification and support myself at the same time. There are salaried options but they are again out of reach geographically. But enough of that here’s something I HOPE will be useful;

A few things I’d note;

–  It’s never too early to start a job search. As long as you don’t panic it’s good to keep an eye on what is around. Recruitment processes can take a long time so it is worth investing some in looking properly.

– Equally don’t leave it to the last minute and students/graduates – Never think that a degree=job! Having a degree is awesome but you have to earn your place in the world of work. No one owes you your dream position just because you studied for 3-4 years.

– If you are at a crossroads (like me) try something new, it’s better to try and fail, than to not try at all you’ll learn something each time!

– If you think there’s an occupation you’d hate or that you think has a certain reputation go and find out what individual companies are like – never make blanket assumptions “All…ers are really cut throat and immoral”

– Try not to pass up an interview – use them as far as possible as practice. You’re not letting anyone down if you go and find out you don’t want the position (in my experience it’s often what they don’t tell you in the advert that is the deal breaker – not the company/atmosphere)

I hope this post has been of some use to you, I’d love some feedback in the comments box so please type me something to think about 🙂

Author: eemaa27

Blogging and reflecting to keep my writing skills in tune

One thought on “The temporary nature of work and WHY IS EVERYTHING IN LONDON?”

  1. This was a really good read!

    I totally understand your frustrations, I too had to move back home after uni and was unemployed for a while.

    I love the point that you raised about frustrations, one of my first jobs out of my unemployed stage was with a PR company, I was a bit nervous because I assumed all PR people are bitchy but actually it depends on the ethos of the team 🙂

    I do have some news for you re living in London, yes it’s expensive and I was so nervous about moving back, but after a 8 month slog of looking for flats I finally found somewhere to live within my means.

    It’s just one of those things that takes a lot of research and preparation, but with most things that’s the key 😀

    If I could add one point to your recommendations I’d say embrace social media as a good one.

    I do a lot of networking and intern recruiting for my site (www.wikifestivals.com) through using LinkedIn and as an employer I’m forever surprised by the responses we get on twitter 😀

    ANYWAY this ends my essay answer haha, keep up the good writing! Cynth

Leave a Reply

