Career blogging without a career in sight

So I had a strange thought the other day after coming out of an interview. I felt uneasy even though I felt like I had done all I could have in there…then I realised:

I actually don’t know what I am going to do with my life- long term. Internships, work placements and temporary work are rife at the moment. I don’t know anyone (aside from those doing teaching – and even then it’s not guaranteed) that is in long term, permanent employment. I may post about the pros and cons of this at a later stage because you know students graduating from 2011 onwards are being diddled (screwed over, if you will) a bit. ANYWAY as mentioned in previous blogs, I have put plans of getting into teaching on hold for now . And I don’t have a plan B. 

I don’t know if I should be shelling out advice via blogging if I don’t have any direction in my life. People around me have told me to keep going if I enjoy it. And I do. SO let’s turn this into a positive! 

I was in a professional development course recently that looked at creative thinking. We were told about a test which I think may have provided me with some guidance it was Howard Gardner’s Multiple intelligence test – some of you may find it useful. They can be found here; http://www.businessballs.com/howardgardnermultipleintelligences.htm#multiple intelligences tests The descriptions for what the tests mean are also on there. Apparently my strengths lie in interpersonal, intrapersonal (self awareness) , “Musical” (despite the fact I don’t play an instrument I just LOVE music) and Linguistic. My highest score was in interpersonal which apparently shows I have potential to be:
A therapist

HR professional

a mediator

a leader (nice a broad there)

a counsellor

politician

sales-person

a member of the clergy (even though I am agnostic)

a psychologist

teacher

organiser

carer (that takes a whole heap of guts I don’t have) 

doctor/healer (despite NO medical experience – wow!)

advertising professional

coach or mentor.

All of which are associated with emotional intelligence. A lot of these need to be taken with a pinch of salt. But hey now my mind is open to some more possibilities.   

Anyone else feeling lost or unsure as to what to do in terms of career http://www.prospects.ac.uk could be a good starting point. Another good place is :http://www.theemployable.com/index.php/2013/04/19/how-to-become-career-directory/

Southampton University students should check out the careers destinations pages for a wealth of knowledge! 

Author: eemaa27

Blogging and reflecting to keep my writing skills in tune

Leave a Reply

