The only one standing in your way, is you!

I could have filled this post with gifs or images with quotes or words of wisdom on. If you’re procrastinating or you want to scroll through some nice images with half decent advice on them then  take a look at my pinterest board http://www.pinterest.com/eemaa27/quoteswords-of-wisdom/ no I do not have a problem 😉

I like to plan, prepare. I like to know things in advance. Working in a fixed term role is an underlying stress which means I can end up dwelling on where I’m going to be next year. OK, so I need  to chill out.

But recently I have come to realise that I actually seem to put some considerable barriers up for myself. I wonder if I am the only one or whether there are others of you who read this who can relate? The following will sound like a series of excuses and to an extent they probably are but I will explain them as I go.

Not being able to drive.

Firstly to explain why this hasn’t happened; I come from a small town, living there with my family before University everything was a 10 minute walk away (School, work etc). This spilled over into University life as everything here is on a bus line. I could walk or bus to lectures and that has been the case working here as well. I currently live in a flat where we don’t have a parking space and neither one of us has learned to drive yet in an effort to save (I’m doing ESPECIALLY well with that, not!) so the main thing stopping me now is the expense.

Why is this a barrier? 

A lot of the jobs I like the look of are further away which makes them harder to get to. Also some positions I am particularly interested in (involving Schools and Colleges) require you to drive because, let’s face it, you can’t rely on public transport and you can’t keep teachers and pupils waiting.

Not being prepared to up and leave the country

A lot of my friends have decided to leave the country for various reasons. And power to them if they have great language skills! Some have also gone do to TEFL (Teaching English as a foreign language course) which I assume they are doing to combine earning, learning and travelling into one. HOWEVER

My main objection/problem with leaving the country (and this is personal, I think if you’re prepared to do it, fairplay I am not undermining or devaluing that) I feel like going to another country to do a qualification which MAY or MAY NOT better my position is too uncertain for me. It has no guarantee. Yes I would have a TEFL or whatever, yes I would be well traveled but the amount of people I know who come back are are disillusioned or depressed at the prospect of having to who in this, let’s face it, GREY country scares me a little.

Why is this a barrier?

A lot of people say travel broadens the mind. Maybe there is something I am massively missing out on? Perhaps it is something one should do in order to develop a sense of being independent and you know, generally grown up and adult?! England isn’t my favorite place and I don’t like the idea of ALWAYS living and working here so could this be the key to a decent career path?

Hearing about people who ditch full time, permanent work for temporary work in Africa for example makes my stomach flip but then that’s because my situation at the moment is temporary and I couldn’t take that risk (how judgmental of me?) but WHY NOT? I’m young and have the time right now so why not take off and take on a new experience elsewhere? I have met a few people who have said that they have regretted not taking that chance earlier in their lives and now they don’t have the time.

Being impatient for progression or role development

Having been made a manager in my previous role after a few short months I think I now have unrealistic expectations in terms of responsibility and progression at work. This is something I think is in built in a lot of grads, they think they have to be on a career ladder NOW and get the top paid job NOW or be seen as a failure.

Why is this a barrier?

I either go for roles with too high a wage (wishful thinking) and get rejected or end up researching how long it has taken people in that role to progress to something higher, find out it’s 8-10 years and then wondered, do I really want to work somewhere that works at that pace? Is that the normal pace? Sounds too slow for me… better not chance it. Limitations!

Not wanting to live and/or work in London 

Um, no thanks. Some people I know manage it but as I have said in previous posts I also know people who have had  to bail on it as it is just plain expensive!

Why is this a barrier?

As above, it’s an absolute trek and I don’t fancy that long and expensive a commute! In addition I am actually missing out on opportunities to work with companies and organisations I really admire and would love! There are some tasty looking London job titles and some excellent organisations I would give *insert something ridiculous* to work for. So I am in fact holding myself back and denying myself that chance

My game plan (oh, spoiler)

Currently on the job search which is a challenge in itself but I intend on landing something permanent (hopefully something where I can work with students but I will do admin work as well/instead) Build myself up in terms of earning potential and then look further afield. I feel this will work in 2 ways

1. I will be able to save money which could lead to potential learning to drive or travel (yay!)

2. I will be able to make myself more attractive to employers thus potentially attracting a higher wage

permanent work => skills + money => more money and skills => happiness?

Words of wisdom…
Author: eemaa27

Blogging and reflecting to keep my writing skills in tune

Leave a Reply

