Don’t lose your head

So at the moment I have lots of things going on. Lots to think about and organise at work and lots of different things happening in my personal life. Not all of them bother me all the time but there seems to be an abundance of people doing rather grown up things! Some of the things I have to look forward to/go through in the next couple of months:

  • I have a hen do to go to in London 🙂
  • One of my closest friends is BUGGERING OFF sorry going away to Australia for like – ever so I have to do goodbyes with her 😦
  • One couple we know is getting married (hence hen-do)
  • A friend of mine announced she was pregnant yesterday
  • My best friend is buying a house!
  • I have an operation to endure (2nd one in 18months) recover from and seamlessly go back to work again afterwards.

With all of this in mind I needed an opportunity to stop. I was lucky last night as I went to see Matthew Bourne’s Swan Lake with work colleagues and aside from being AMAZING it also managed to chill me out and make me forget about lots of thoughts buzzing around my head.

The music and movement was quite therapeutic. I also admired the amount of strength and control the dancers had -you could see the sheer concentration on their faces. It reminded me of when I used to do yoga (still yet to get back on that horse but I have a note – honest!) and how if you don’t focus and concentrate you will topple instead of looking like a strong tree or indeed a graceful swan. So although I have a lot on my mind I need to maintain focus and make sure I don’t get overwhelmed by emotion. I also need to make sure I don’t try and cross bridges before I get to them.

Serious skills

I know these posts have started to get a bit philosophical, personal and deep but I think it’s important to put yourself first and look after your health both physical and mental in order to get the best out of any kind of work you do. I am incredibly lucky to have great support from my boss and I think it’s important to be open and honest about your limits.

I hope that all the different things going on in my friends lives will bring about new and exciting changes but I also hope I keep their support as well. I am assured by older friends that even if you feel like you’re losing people because they move away, ABANDON YOU FOR AUSTRALIA, get married or have children there is always the possibility you will stay in touch even if you’re miles away.

Author: eemaa27

Blogging and reflecting to keep my writing skills in tune

Leave a Reply

