Taking a step back…

So for those of you who don’t know me or haven’t worked with me, I am a massive keen bean! That is to say I am VERY enthusiastic about my job… most of the time. I think I am usually pretty good at making sure I am helpful to other people. But over the past 2 years I have been in this role I have found things that have somewhat burst my keen bean bubble. Be that events and people at work or personal stuff.

One of the most valuable lessons I have learned in this role is to know when to take a step back. To know when to avoid putting my hand up and to make sure I don’t worry about things I’m not directly involved with. I have had to do that even more recently when the other day a rather large piece of work was landed on our office and I had to help out a bit more. One of the main things I have been doing recently is recruiting students as well! SO MANY CVs, COVER LETTERS AND INTERVIEWS!

These are a few of the things I bear in mind when I think I want to put my hand up and help someone else

  • Be content with the work you have, make sure what you do take on you enjoy – then it’s (hopefully) easier to avoid procrastinating or looking for more to do
  • Never underestimate the work load you already have/ take interruptions into account. If you think you only have a couple of things to do and you’re light on work don’t be too quick to ask for more until you really need it. There is plenty that can get in the way of productivity.
  • You’ll be more focused if your work load or approach to work is focused, try to avoid a scatter gun approach.
  • When you do take something on have a relaxed attitude about it, being enthusiastic is OK but bear in mind that some people might find you monopolising on work annoying!
  • You can only control the controlables, the more you take on, the more you are responsible for so try not to get in over your head.
OK, so I’m not this keen

I may well have just repeated the same point in a couple of different ways here but I know how people new to a role or even those who are trying to make their mark want to leave an impression or make themselves indispensable. It’s important to keep a balance on things otherwise you may end up hating a job you used to love.

Author: eemaa27

Blogging and reflecting to keep my writing skills in tune

Leave a Reply

