Over a year without bacon (yes it can be done)

giphy
If you don’t recognise this, click to watch 

Contrary to the title, this is not a post about diets. Just a quick reflection and acknowledgement that I survived a 2015 without bacon! I have in fact gone over a year now without any red meat. A year ago I posted about my reservations about sticking to this  but I have managed it. And that doesn’t happen that often.  I am not renowned for sticking to things really – new years resolutions being a typical example.

I had one moment early last year where I thought I really wanted some red meat, in the form of meatballs and spaghetti. Turned out as I shopped for an alternative (tuna balls, om nom!) that I had in fact just wanted the tomato sauce and ALL OF THE CHEESE ON TOP. So I dodged that bullet. My boyfriend, being a fan of food en general is supportive but did spend much of last year trying to test my resolve and failing.

I thought this year I may cut out meat/fish entirely but have decided to quit while I am ahead and stick with how I am. I’m not usually one to mess around with my diet so I’ll see how things go.

I am however now on the smoothie train about to experiement with matcha green tea and intend on at least trying some new (as if I go to any already) exercise classes. I will also try to get on with some more blogging at some point.

This may all seem trivial and uninteresting but after the emotional Christmas I have had this year (may write more about this later), I think I will give myself this small pat on the back.

My brother has now tried to ONE UP me by becoming pescatarian.

All I can say is; may the force be with you, bro

200
You’ll always have cheese though, right?
Author: eemaa27

Blogging and reflecting to keep my writing skills in tune

Leave a Reply

