Going Back To School: First Assignment Submitted!

So this won’t be a big deal to most of you but I just submitted my first assignment in 5 years. It was only a 350 word TEL blog but it was definitely an exercise in concise writing! One of the things I was most worried about was referencing but I think it is much like riding a bike – I got back into it with relative ease.

While I was reading for the assignment I did two short stints in the library. This was weird for me because I was going back into a library I had used a lot during my BSc. It was also  entertaining bumping into students that I work with who, although friendly, were confused as to why the hell I was in there.

Being in the library also transported me back into the mindset of a student which was strange. Although I really enjoyed university I wasn’t the best student (as I mentioned in my last post) and studying for an assignment again actually filled me we feelings of anxiety all over again (I struggled with anxiety and depression as a student). This didn’t bode well and after one “library date” with my partner after work and a second attempt on a separate occasion to get some work done in one of the computer rooms there, I decided I should probably try and work elsewhere.

Working elsewhere of course brings with it more distractions, Facebook memories has recently been reminding me of how much I used to post while supposedly working. This time, some of the reading I found was done on Facebook and so I had to find links I had saved there. This made avoiding distraction tricky and again I couldn’t resist the urge to post just something about my work progress.

Top tip: don’t listen to the Stranger Things instrumental soundtrack while trying to work, it won’t help your sense of dread!

giphy
From Giphy

I still have some assignments left to go and am still familiarising myself with a lot of the pedagogical theories and jargon. I am hoping to get a good mark but won’t find out for a while now.

The next assignments are based around observing and being observed while delivering sessions to students. Any words of advice from those who have been observed before? Let me know in the comments. 

Author: eemaa27

Blogging and reflecting to keep my writing skills in tune

Leave a Reply

