On being grateful

So the world is full of bad news at the moment. Every day we see new events unfolding that just make us feel down in the dumps. 2016 was cruel and 2017 isn’t shaping up to be much better.

Before Christmas I was really tempted to blog about how many times I had gone for and been knocked back from, promotion in 2016. After the Christmas break part of me still felt tempted to do this. To talk about the glass ceiling, about woe is me and when will I get a break?!  After all, I’ve been doing this for years and I work damn hard. But instead, after a week off of work and now returning to my desk, I have found myself simply feeling grateful for my job.

Although challenging on a daily basis and at times seriously making me wonder why I bother, I am lucky to have a full time job that offers me freedom to do projects that I enjoy. If things don’t go to plan in my bubble at work, no one dies and I am earning money. Even today after I had a seriously awkward exchange with students, I’m still here, I’m still working.

I know this probably reads like a “nothing” post. But it is rare that I feel like this, especially seeing as we have had stress at home (further adventures of Emma vs. landlord) I find it remarkable that I have been able to keep a lid on things.

blf

 

 

 

 

Author: eemaa27

Blogging and reflecting to keep my writing skills in tune

Leave a Reply

